A Week of Thanks – Day 7

25 11 2006

Day 7 – Crafts

First let me say that I’m glad today is the last day. Whew!

Crafting. Its what I do. Its who I am. I really love crafting. When I’m not crafting, I’m thinking of something to make, working stuff out in my head. It keeps me sane. I really believe that. It gives such a huge sense of accomplishment when I finish a large project and it turned out great.
november2006 022

I don’t know what I would do without it. I’m a stay at home mom without cable. My house can only be so clean! I’m seriously confused about what other moms do during naptimes!

I have always enjoyed drawing.  As a teenager, I really wanted to learn to sew.  I took home ec and failed that portion though!  I just could not get pockets!  I learned how to sew while working at a costume store.  I loved it from the beginning.  I would even spend my days off sewing.  At one point, I asked to go part time so I could sew more at home.

It just kind of progressed from there.  And now I am here, a craft junkie and proud of it.  I try to craft everyday.  I don’t watch tv.  I try to only craft when Cale’s sleeping or when Kevin takes care of him.  I think I’m raising a mini craft junkie though!  That kid loves glue and scissors!  Now he’s starting to like beads.  Its funny.  I bet he would sew if I let him!

november2006 021

Today I spent my entire day crafting while Kevin looked after Cale.  I had a few interruptions (eating 2 meals, peeing, you know normal stuff) but for the most part I got to work all day.  The top picture is a WIP, my advent calendar.  I love how the garland turned out.  Its my favorite so far.

This next picture is also a WIP.  It was my practice run for my adult craft day for MOMS Club.  We’ll be making domino pendants and I just wanted to make sure it was do-able.  I didn’t even know if my dremel could drill into a domino.  It can but it stinks something awful!!!  I’m going to try a few more things to get it perfect.  The main thing is that I messed up the pixels when I resized my image.  They’re printed on lazertran paper in case anyone’s interested.

In the lower lefthand corner is a photo album that I covered in patchworked oilcloth.  This will be my craft journal.  More on this later….

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

