Forcing Christmas Spirit on myself

13 12 2006

This has been such a sad couple of weeks. Its really hard to concentrate on anything. Add to that a snotty sick kid and a sick mama and not much gets done. All during the holiday season. Normally I have lots of elaborate crafting planned, whether its gifts or ornaments. This year I just haven’t felt into it at all. It feels fake. Of course it doesn’t help when its 65-70 degrees everyday and my grass is a blinding color of green. So this week after I got better, I forced some Christmas spirit into my house. The tree has been set up for a while:
dec2006 007
Its small but perfect. We put lights on it this year and I like it a lot better. I would love to make patchwork stockings but these are soooo soft. At the foot of the tree are all of the “presents” that Cale leaves for Santa.
dec2006 011
Have you seen the mitten pattern at Disdressed? These are based on those, only instead of felt, they’re made of paper. (Well not the Blues Clues ones, obviously.) Cale’s is the red one and Mom’s and Dad’s are the blue and green ones. Easy fun for a bored day.

On my search for Christmas spirit, I visited my girl Martha for some inspiration. And I found this image. Oh, what beauty! Have you ever seen such perfection? Glitter, birds, glittery birds, tree branches, more glitter. And of course I can’t run out to my local craft store for plastic birds so I made my own out of papier mache.
dec2006 013
They’re kind of lumpy and some may say deformed, but I like them. I’m hoping that once they’re covered in glitter and paint, that it will hide their imperfections the way that snow maked even the ugliest scenes magical.

Speaking of snow, I bought some snow in a can. My husband was telling me how disgusting he thought it was, when we ran across some and I grabbed not one but 2 cans. Oh, flock in a can, where have you been all my life???
dec2006 009
I covered an old wreath that I had lying around, that had I had fallen out of love with. A few more coats, some glitter and this baby will be beautiful again. I also sprayed a tree branch that I plan on covering in glitter.
And for more glittery fun:
dec2006 012
I printed these letters from the Pottery Barn Kids site, traced them onto cardstock, cut them out and covered them in glitter. Peace is needed in every possible way this year. And I also did JOY, because with all the sadness, its important to remember that we need to keep living our lives, if for no other reason than for our childrens’ smiles. It will be finished later because my silver glitter is in the forbidden closet where my gift is being kept.

Tomorrow we leave for Germany for a few days. I’m really excited, but Cale is still sick. I have been panicking about the ski lifts for weeks, but I found out that its a non-scary kind so I feel relieved about that. But now, Cale seems to be doing worse and there’s no way I can put him in daycare if he’s still sick on Friday. So it may be pay-per-view, massages, and knitting for me instead. Still sounds pretty sweet. Saturday we’re going to see the Cinderella Castle in the snow!!!! Eeeek!!! I’m so excited!!! Sunday we have a horse and carriage ride scheduled, which should be lovely. I hope to find time for shopping at a Christmas market (I really have no clue what that means, I just know I want to go!) And I’m hoping to find a German sewing shop so I can buy German magazines and guterman thread. I’ve been assured that Germany has shops just like America does. And I want a cuckoo clock and lederhosen too! I don’t think my husband knows what he’s in for! So send Cale get well wishes. He needs them. We all need them. šŸ˜€ I’ll be back on Monday, hopefully with lots of pictures and fun stories. Hope everyone has a great weekend!

Actions

Information

4 responses

14 12 2006
Sarah

I can’t make your Martha link work, but I suspect it is to the tinsel branch that I just finished this week! It turned out so awesome! I love the idea of the paper mache birds though….You can see it on the front page of my blog still, if you are interested.

14 12 2006
Sheena

Hope Cale feels better asap! Have fun and enjoy your trip. The decorations are gorgeous. I didn’t decorate as much as I wanted to. I can’t wait for Carlee to open her presents though, I’ve been looking foward to it for months now. lol… Anyway, have lots of fun, and I can’t wait to see your pictures. šŸ™‚

15 12 2006
Saucy

I try to drop by your blog on a regular basis. I like the new format you are using on typepad. You also did a nice job on those papier mache birdies! I like things that are a little, well, wonky! Flock in a can rocks, by the way!

15 12 2006
Aunt Lisa

I hope Cale gets better. I can definately sypathize with you. None of your links are working. I think I tried the birdie one and the castle one. Oh well, i will take your word that they are beautiful. Don’t feel bad about lack of Christmas spirit. Mine started off good until the baby got sick. Everytime I even think about it or Christmas I want to cry. I am hanging in there tho.

Leave a Reply

