3 Years Ago Today…

26 02 2007

I spent the majority of the day doing the hardest work that I had ever done in my life. The epidural never worked so most of the day was spent in agony.

Cale was actually born 11 minutes into the next day so his birthday is tomorrow, but I will never forget this day either. When Cale was born, he didn’t cry. He just looked around to see the world. He actually lost points on his agpar score for that, but it was such a defining moment. When he did start crying, he stopped immediately when I held him for the first time. He was soon whisked away and I didn’t see him for until late the next day. I’ll never forget those moments though. Meeting my love for the first time. It was all worth it. All of the morning sickness, all of the scary tests, the hard painful labor. Just for one look at him.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I had always said that I would admit if he was ugly when he was born. But he wasn’t. He was absoultely beautiful. I still can’t look at him without admiring his beauty.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

We lost a memory card that had pictures of his first birthday on them. This was taken in March 2005, soon after we got to Sicily. (Forgive the *really* bad picture of me and I hope the bunny doesn’t give you nightmares!)

jan-march2006 076
2nd Birthday.

feb2007 012
And 3rd Birthday. (Pirate mustache and sideburns courtesy of my husband and my eyeliner pencil; scary red eyes courtesy of my camera and me not noticing before uploading the picture.)

Such a big kid now.
My handsome prince, how I love you. I’m happy to take any little bit of love that you’re willing to give, even if it means us “hiding from the (s)pooky” under a blanket together, or when you’re trying to prolong bedtime, or when you say, “You’re not mean; you’re nice,” and then you smile your cutest smile at me. It melts my heart every time.

(He has decided that I am having a dolphin party for my birthday and he’s going to give me a heart made out of diamonds and triangles too. Love that!)

Actions

Information

6 responses

26 02 2007
Angela

So sweet! Happy Birthday cutie Cale!

26 02 2007
jennifer w.

A big Happy B-day to Cale!

26 02 2007
capello

aw, happy third birthday cale!

the days seem to drag, but they years fly by.

26 02 2007
sheena

Happy Birthday Cale! Wish we could have gone. šŸ˜¦ He looks like he had a blast though! He was a gorgeous newborn. Carlee looked pissed at the world when she was born… but that could of been due to the nurse’s really excessive sucking out the airway process… hehe
šŸ˜€

26 02 2007
lisakillian

Wish we could have been there. This was a beautiful birthday tribute blog to Cale. I can especially appreciate it because I am holding my new little beauty in my arms now. There is nothing more precious in this entire world than your own children. The word love is not even strong enough to describe how I feel for my little man Trinton. ***Give Cale a big sloppy birthday kiss from all of us. We miss yall!

28 02 2007
Sarah

Happy Birthday Cale. (Who is, indeed, one beautiful kid.)

Leave a Reply

