Another travel post

10 05 2007

Maybe I should change my name to sicily junkie. I feel like a terminally ill patient who has only so long to live and wants to fill every moment possible with sweet things. We have about 9 1/2 months left here and I am determined to make as much of it as possible count! My love for Sicily has grown so much. I see the beauty, not the trash; the friendly smiles, not the stares. I gaze upon the beauty, determined to suck up as much as I can, so maybe I can remember it forever, as it is now, not as it will be.

We set out this weekend to go to a nature reserve. We almost didn’t go because it looked like rain. I’m so glad we chanced it! The drive was long but beautiful. Upon the way we saw a sign that said Parco Forzo in Cava Ispica. It was close to lunchtime so we decided to stop for a picnic. Once again, I’m so glad we did. Cava Ispica is a valley below the city of Ispica. It is an ancient village, comprised of caves carved in the mountain wall. Some were homes, burial grounds, convents, and churches. Most were homes though. As we oohed and aahed, we realized that not only were these once homes, but some people still live in them!!!
HPIM2373

HPIM2372
I think the larger spaces were for horses or mules, and the smaller spaces were the homes. The entire homes were about the size of my bathroom! So crazy.

HPIM2401
From there, we found the nature reserve, walked along the beach, froze a little on a sunless day.

HPIM2405
There were all these little ball things all over the beach. I have no clue what they were though. The only wildlife we saw were caterpillars. We had granita and drove on to find somewhere to stay for the night. The first few towns we tried were dead. It’s still off season, so nothing was open. We drove until we found a lovely agriturismo. Masseria Sul Mare was the best place we have ever stayed in Sicily. An agriturismo is a farm that has rooms to stay in, a restaurant made with locally produced food and usually has activities. The food was amazing. It was so peaceful and so perfect. The next day we walked out to the beach/cliffs.
HPIM2488
So beautiful. We walked around cautiously with Cale very close at hand, then headed to the beach. We spent the next few hours running in and out of the water screaming. It was warm, but the current was strong. Cale has never liked the water before, so this is so exciting!

So that was last weekend. As you can tell, not a whole lot of crafting going on lately. Today I finally had time, but I napped it away. I’m feeling a little under the weather today, not sure what’s up. Maybe I will actually have some crafts done soon. My sewing machine misses me! I’m off for an afternoon cappuccino.
PS. More photos can be found here.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mommies!

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 05 2007
sheena

wow. I can’t believe people still live in those little caves. I can’t even imagine. And the veiw from the cliffs is breathtaking. Glad ya’ll had fun. See ya later. đŸ˜€

25 05 2007
Sarah

Maybe those are sea sponges. The photo isn’t really close enough for me to tell. Did it smell bad?

Leave a Reply

