My weekend

11 07 2007

There are times when I read certain blogs (not anyone who reads mine, by the way) and their lives seem so perfect and so happy that I hate them. They gush on and on about how much they love their children, right as I’m trying not to strangle my own. Their homes are immaculate and have been in magazines, while I’m trying to not break my neck on spilled legos. You know the ones. And I have to admit that no, my life is not perfect. And probably never will be. And seriously who would want perfection? And what does this have to do with my weekend? Well this weekend was about as perfect as it gets. I had those special moments with my son that beach trips often bring. I relaxed, I feel refreshed and all new. Well, at least back to normal.

july 4th weekend

The weekend was spent on the northwestern tip of Sicily.   We visited a nature reserve that required tons of hiking and I survived it!  Whew!  It was worth it.  All of it.

  1. Cale’s first funny face – monster eyes.
  2. A view of the beach at Zingaro Nature Reserve
  3. Cale decided to rock climb.
  4. But playing with rocks is fun too.
  5.  Cale and his dad hiked to some caves.  He found “a knife for a knight to fight dragons.”  And the caves were filled with “really nice bats.”
  6. On the way home, we stopped in the medieval town of Erice.
  7. There were 3 castles which of course delighted the boy who is obsessed with knights and princesses.  Cale said the little castle was his and the big castle was mine, since I’m a princess.  Dad’s a dragon.  PS. My castle is a hotel!
  8. From the castles, you can see the sea.
  9. We also stopped at Segesta, to see a Greek temple.
  10. This place was huge.  Can you see me?
  11. Sooooo amazing.
  12. Sooo handsome!
  13. I took this one.  The temple is in the countryside, which is rare in Sicily.
  14. Another Erice picture.  We could have spent days here taking pictures.
  15. Another beach picture.  The water was as clear as drinking water.  However, it was the saltiest water I have ever been in.  Turns out its near salt mines.
  16. The water by this rock was so shallow and gentle.  And there was a little cave too.

So now I’m back home and I feel better than I have in a long time.  I even washed all of my new fabric to get some sewing done soon!

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 07 2007
Enrico

HI I like you enjoy in Sicily.

Best regards…

11 07 2007
capello

he he, i TOTALLY know what you’re talking about.

Leave a Reply

