Confessions, heartbreak and hope

20 07 2007

Patchwork & Linen pants

Confessions

  • I cheated.  See those pants?  I was supposed to make them.  They’re made of linen which I bought, but I didn’t buy enough of.  So I bought some at the market.  2 pairs.  And I love them.  The ironic part is that if I used these pants as a pattern, I would have enough fabric.  Note to self, when you find inexpensive linen, always buy way more than you thought you needed.
  • See the patchwork squares? I started this project months ago for a baby who has already been born.  He’s 3 1/2 months old now.  This is all I have done.  I’m trying to get it done before my ultrasound next month where I find out the sex of my own baby.
  • I sewed for the first time in about 2 months.  It feels great.
  • Even though I’m on a spending hiatus,  I couldn’t help but check out the sale at Hancock’s of Paducah.  And wouldn’t you know it, there’s some beauties on sale.
  • Apparently I suck at grasping the concept of time.  That it passes.  I just told a neighbor that we had 9 months here.  We did some math yesterday.  Turns out its closer to 7 months, perhaps less.
  • You can tell the level of my panicking by how clean my house is, particularly my kitchen.  Let’s just say, I can see my reflection in anything that’s shiny.

Heartbreak and Hope

It has come to the time where we have to decide on what to do next.  Right now my husband is set on getting out of the Navy.  Luckily he has a great job that transfers nicely to the civilian world, and plenty of education and certifications in his field.  So we have 2 options.  One is to stay working for the government and we could end up anywhere, the other is to move to where we want (sorry, can’t reveal this info yet) and get a civilian job.  I’ve never seen him so excited about anything.  He has been working on his resume like a grad student working on a thesis (I feel kind of sorry for whoever has to read it.)  I love that he’s excited.  I do.  He comes home every day with a new exciting scenario of what might happen.  And this is what’s killing me.  It’s so hard for me to know what to do at this point.  I’m kind of having a baby in January, you know.  So panic is setting in.  Yesterday eh mentioned the idea that Cale and I would go back to the states early and he would be with us the next month (I can only fly for so long!)  The idea that caused such excitement for him, made me cry.  I love it, but the thought of leaving here is so hard.  I love it here so much.  And I realized that in my heart, I never thought we would leave.

But hope comes on the form of house buying.   I have about 6 house plans picked out in different neighborhoods in the area that he’s looking in.  That part is so exciting.  I miss owning a house.  There’s so many other great things to look forward to as well.

I’ll be so glad when things are a tad bit more decided.  Until then, I have crafting and fervently cleaning to keep me busy.

Actions

Information

5 responses

22 07 2007
sheena

6 months!!! omg. That does seem like a short time. I didn’t even realize how soon you were leaving either. 😦 😦 😦
But on the other hand, I’m so happy for ya’ll, getting to buy a house and all that. How exciting! That’s on our to-do when we move back to the states too, (Tony’s thinking about getting out after next duty station,) and I’m glad you’re crafting again!
I will talk to you later!

22 07 2007
sheena

oops I meant 7 months!!! lol didn’t mean to shorten your time here! geez…

22 07 2007
Regan

I hope your coming home to Norfolk! I need you.

23 07 2007
Angela

Oh wow. I’m sure it is very hard to think about a place you have grown to love so much…even more so because you’re pregnant! 🙂 I hope your path leads you to a wonderful spot that you can call home.

24 07 2007
Dee Light

Change can be so hard!!! and being pregnant can make it so much harder. I’m pregnant and my husband is talking about moving 45 minutes away from the town
we grew up in, that freeks me out. So I can only imagine how you must be feeling. I hope things become more settled for you!!

Leave a Reply

