Arrgggg matey

30 10 2007

It’s no secret that my son likes pirates. So what did he want to dress up as for Halloween? A pirate of course. I didn’t like any of the already made costumes so I made him one myself. It was one of those things where I was afraid it would look like crap, but it ended up nice.
Cale's a pirate
The hat came from the backup costume I bought just in case it did turn out bad. The shirt is a regular button down shirt that I found at the thrift store and added ruffles to. I made the vest from some fake suede fabric I had laying around. The buttons and skull and bones medallions are made from fimo and painted with stinky but awesome gold paint. The “jaggedy” pants are made from a t shirt. The sash was made from scrap fabric. It can be used as a headband or a knife holder. Add rubber boots and stripey socks and you have a pirate.  I also made his booty bag. I was sewing very last minute, but everything got done and he liked it.
All good pirates have swords bigger than they are!
And here he is in tough guy mode. The sword was broken before the night ended.  He kept asking me questions about pirates so he could keep in character.  “Do pirates sit, Mom?”

He’s looking forward to tomorrow night when his Dad takes him trick or treating, while I sit home with my feet up.

Actions

Information

2 responses

30 10 2007
Sarah

LOL at the pirates sitting.

He looks adorable. Errr, very scary, he looks like a very scary pirate matey!

31 10 2007
Lisa

Cale is SO lucky to have such a creative Mommy who has TIME to make super cool stuff! Can you tell I am jealous? Unfortunately, lately I have no inspiration or time to make anything…….including dinner. I am hoping when you get here, some of the craftiness will rub off. P.S. Trinton is a puppy. One of my patients gave me a costume for him, and I just spent $54.11 at Halloween Express for Lauren to dress up like a very expensive adult version of Strawberry Shortcake. God, I can’t wait for you to get here!

Leave a Reply

