Empty house + kid at school = lots of time to craft

20 11 2007

Quilt WIP
I’m trying to get as much as I can before Cale’s last day of school (tomorrow) and before I have to ship more stuff out (late next week.) Wow, time has flown. It’s already Thanksgiving. We already celebrated a few weeks and are hoping to go to Rome instead. It’s our last chance.
Anyways, on to the quilt. This will be for my elbow-y, kick-y little girl. What started out as simple turned more complicated as more and more concepts came together that I wanted to incorporate. There is just too much great vintage embroidery out there to not add any. And then I saw Amy’s Bend the Rules Sewing Lap Blanket. Okay, so I don’t own this book (yet) so its really more inspired by the different variations I’ve seen of it. Today I finished all the major row piecing. I still need to finish the other 5 embroidered squares and piece it all together. It’s even more lovely than I imagined it to be, so far.

Granny squares
At nights I work on granny squares. I have no grand illusions that I could make a blanket, but I do want a scarf. And I’m hoping to make a hat after that (one color, different design.)

Hope everyone has a wonderful Thanksgiving.
XOXO

Actions

Information

5 responses

23 11 2007
Sarah

It is going to be fantastically gorgeous! When is the big move?

23 11 2007
sheena

omg that quilt is so beautiful already! I can’t wait to see it when it’s finished! Hope you guys are feeling better! 🙂

1 12 2007
Tanya Whelan

Oh, the blanket looks so pretty, thank you for including my fabric and I love that little puppy embroidery looking piece!

2 12 2007
Debbie Childers

Emy, I am so proud of you. You were always a very special person. I love you. Mom

18 12 2007
animal

You are so much like me, or i’m like you, well anyway, if we knew each other we’d make a good team, hehe, keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

