Tiny steps

9 02 2011

In an effort to get back into blogging, I’m going to try writing again. I could give a million excuses but if you know me, you already know of them (school, kids, home life.)

chair from craigslist before

Anyways, a few months ago I bought this chair from Craigslist. I loved the blue ticking, but it was impossible to get clean. Kevin hates this chair but it is my favorite, so comfy. I had bought it with the intentions of slipcovering in white denim. After a few weeks though, the intimidation of white got to me. I knew I had to find a cleanable alternative. That’s when I ran across Miss Mustard Seed’s tutorial for bleaching drop cloths. Drop cloths are perfect. Light in color, durable and interesting in texture. Plus since I already bleached them prior to sewing them, I don’t worry too much about stains.

slipcovered chair after

I would love to say that sewing it was easy and came together quickly and perfectly, but that would be a lie. It was a labor of love though and I am so happy with the results. I love the ruffle at the bottom. And cheeto finger prints can be easily washed away.

The white is quite a departure from my normal palette but I am finding that I crave quiet colors as the stress in life increases. It sits in the room where I spend most of my time. The entire main floor of this house is pretty open so I have to be mindful of that as I make changes. I have a few changes in mind to make this room a little more peaceful, including new paint color, retiling the fireplace, closing off the space over the fireplace and more slipcovers. That will come in time. Like I said, baby steps.

Actions

Information

One response

10 02 2011
Sheena

the chair looks great! I love the ruffle at the bottom, too. welcome back to blogging. Can’t wait to see the crafty things you’ve been up to. I need to get back into crafting… I’ve mainly been knitting and that’s it. Hope school and life in general are going great. =)

Leave a Reply

